Canton Central School will begin spring sports practices this coming Monday, April 19th. All teams will meet with their respective coaches at the following times and locations. Sport offerings, start times and coaches are below.

Modified Boys and Girls Track and Field. Coach Deb Lyndaker will host practice from 3:00-4:30 and will meet at the far end of the track near the pull-up bars. dlyndaker@gmail.com

Modified Girls Lacrosse. Coach Cory Palmer will host practice from 3:00-4:30 and will meet behind the middle school on the girls modified practice field. cpalmer@ccsdk12.org

Modified Boys Lacrosse. Coach Garret Glasgow and Coach Jake Facey will host practice from 3:00-4:30 behind the bleachers. glasgowgarret@gmail.com facey106@canton.edu

Modified Wrestling. Coach Alan Rossner will hold practice from 5:00-6:30 pm in the wrestling room. arossner@clarkson.edu

Modified Softball. Coach Tori Thomas will practice from 3:00-4:30 on the modified softball field. tthomas@ccsdk12.org

Modified Baseball. Coach Trent White and Coach Mark Mende will practice from 3:30-5:00pm on the modified baseball field. mmende@stlawu.edu trenton.white022@cortland.edu

Junior Varsity Softball. Coach Carla Wentworth will practice from 3:00-5:00 on the JV girls softball field. cwentworth@ccsdk12.org

Varsity Girls Track and Field. Coach Bill Porter will train from 3:30-5:30 pm on the track. wporter@ccsdk12.org

Varsity Boys Track and Field. Coach Greg Kiah will train from 3:30-5:30 pm on the track. gkiah@ccsdk12.org

Varsity Baseball. Coach Matt Caufield will practice from 3:30-5:30pm on the varsity baseball field. mcaufield@ccsdk12.org

Varsity Softball. Coach Mike Wentworth will practice from 3:00-5:00 on the varsity softball field. mwentworth@ccsdk12.org

Varsity Wrestling. Coach Dylan Morrison and Coach Mike Haycook will train from 5:00-6:30 in the wrestling room. mhaycook2@gmail.com dyliedally119@hotmail.com

Varsity Golf. Coach Rob Brown will begin practices on Wednesday, April 21st at the St. Lawrence University Clubhouse at 3:00 pm. Practice will end at approximately 5:00 pm. robbrown@ccsdk12.org

Varsity Boys Lacrosse. Coach Jeff Meyers and Assistant Coach Cole Zeller will practice from 3:30-5:30 on the practice field behind the bleachers. jmeyers@ccsdk12.org

Varsity Girls Lacrosse. Coach Murphy Newman and Assistant Coach Rachel Holz will practice from 3:30-5:30 on the practice field behind the middle school. mnewman@mcs.k12.ny.us

Student-athletes are expected to arrive no earlier than 10 minutes prior to their scheduled practice time. Athletes should plan to not use a locker room or keep their belongings at school. Every athlete should bring his/her own water bottle each day. Bottle filling stations will be available to refill. Athletes will continue to wear a face mask which covers their mouth and nose when practicing and playing. Athletes should plan to leave immediately following their practice session as loitering on campus will be discouraged. With the exception of wrestling, all other athletes should avoid entering the building unless there is a need to use a restroom or to shelter during a lightning situation.

Athletes will need to have an up to date Health History Form on file with school nurse Candy Bates. Any athlete who has tested positive for Covid-19 must provide additional level of clearance from their physician. Nurse Bates will be contacting those individuals to explain the steps. Student-athletes will also need to complete and sign a Covid-19 Permission form. Coaches may be contacted for sport specific and team specific information.

Game schedules can be found at the Athletics Department Webpage which is linked here. https://sites.google.com/a/cantoncentral.org/athletics/

Plenty of other relevant information can be found that this location as well including; the Health History Form, Covid-19 School Activities Permission Form and Physical Examination form. Rosters are fluid at this point and are expected to change for the next few days so there is still time to sign up. Please find the link at the Athletics Webpage above. This link will take you directly to the “Sports”Sign-Up” page. https://cantoncentral-ar.rschooltoday.com/

For further questions, please contact your coach directly at the email provided or Bill Porter at 315-386-8561 extension 43145 or email at wporter@ccsdk12.org.

GO BEARS!!

.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: